topimg

Kraino is a Retro, Action-Packed Platformer That's Completely Free

January 15, 2018 by RSS Feed

Kraino (Free) by Angel Dorantes is a side-scrolling action platformer that is reminiscent of classic games like Mega Man and Castlevania. If you enjoyed other iOS games like Goblin Sword and Sword of Xolan, then Kraino is an excellent choice to consider.

As someone who grew up in the '90s with the old-school platformer games, I can definitely appreciate any new foray into the crowded App Store market of platformers. Castlevania is one of my favorite series, especially the 2D ones that were on the old Nintendo consoles and past handhelds. There's nothing more satisfying than jumping to avoid obstacles and hack-and-slashing away at hordes of undead minions. So when I saw Kraino on the App Store, I was pulled in right away — the screenshots alone made me reminisce about my childhood. Needless to say, Kraino is a must.

$1.99

Goblin Sword

Gelato Games Ltd

$0.99

Sword Of Xolan

Alper Sarikaya

Kraino features a super retro, pixel art visual style that will make any '80s or '90s kid feel at home. The graphics are true to the classics that it draws inspiration from, and if I didn't know any better, I'd mistake this game for one that was on Super Nintendo or Sega Genesis. Even though it's a pixelated style, Kraino is still incredibly detailed and everything looks fantastic. The colors range from dark and gloomy tones to more vibrant and bolder hues. Animations are buttery smooth and fluid, so I experienced no issues with lag or choppy frame rates. I found the soundtrack to be fairly quirky and eerie at the same time, which means it's pretty delightful. It has a touch of metal to it, which is fitting considering there's skeletons and other baddies galore.

Kraino takes a lot of inspiration from the classic games, like Mega Man and Castlevania. There are six dungeons to make your way through, and they are rather lengthy. There are, however, checkpoints at certain points in the game, so if you die, you can pick up from the last checkpoint you reached, rather than start at the beginning. Each area features a series of connected rooms, and you must make your way through each one to face off against a tough boss at the end. The goal of the game is simple enough: hack-n-slash your way through to the end, and see how far you can get.

You'll always start the game with three lives. Controls are easy and intuitive. In the bottom left area, there are two buttons for moving left and right. In the bottom right corner of the screen are three buttons for your basic melee attack, jumping, and your ranged axe attack.

For the most part, the default button positioning works out well enough, as I had no real issues with moving around and attacking. Be warned though, because there's no way to customize the button size or positions, so you're stuck with them. Honestly, it takes a bit of practice to get used to them, but it shouldn't be too bad.

Again, you only get three lives in the game, and your health bar is displayed in the top left corner. If it's fully depleted, that means you lose a life. You also straight up lose a life if you fall onto spikes, so be careful for those. There may be opportunities for more lives or health by breaking lights and other objects, so make sure to explore every little nook and cranny. You can watch an ad to gain a continue, though, but this is completely optional. It's also the only time you'll see ads in the game.

On top of it all, there are power-up items that you can use to your advantage against the various creatures of the night (even though you're a skeleton). The power-up items are what you'd use for the ranged attack slot, and these can include throwing axes, saw blades that move along the floor and walls after you throw them, and more. They are pretty scarce though, so I'd recommend holding on to them only for boss fights, because the other enemies can easily be taken out with regular attacks.

Kraino is an excellent action platformer that's a great homage to the classics, and it's free with no strings attached.

The Good

Kraino is a true gem of a game, and it's hard to believe that something this good is free. The vintage pixel art graphics are a nice homage back to the golden days of gaming, and the music and sounds are super charming. For an action platformer, the controls work out pretty well, and it's intuitive enough for anyone. The stages themselves can get pretty challenging, and the boss fights are definitely something to look forward to.

The Bad

Kraino is a solid game, but there's always improvements that can be made. For one, I hope to see customizable control options in the future, because I think being able to change the button size and positioning could help some people out. And while the only time you'll see an ad is if you want to get a continue in the game, there's no way to get rid of ads or even just support the developer (no in-app purchases). This is a freebie game where I would like to see a tip jar to contribute to.

The verdict

As someone who grew up with these types of games, I am in love with Kraino. Everything about it just takes me back to my youth — the pixel art, the music, the core game mechanics, and the whole dark castle setting. It all brings a smile to my face, and I still can't believe this game is free. It's pretty high quality for the price, and there's no intrusive ads or in-app purchases, which is a rarity these days. I just hope to see controller options in the future.

Kraino is on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone and iPad for free.

8.9

OVERALL

Graphics 10

Sound/Music 9

Gameplay 9

Replayability 8.5

Game Controls 8

FREE

Kraino

Angel Dorantes

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 01/15/2018

January 15, 2018 by RSS Feed

Multi Translate Voice: Say It , Regression Calc , My Graphing Calculator and more

Universal:

Multi Translate Voice: Say It ( $12.99 → Free ) XHLIU Multi Translate is fast and efficient. First choose the language you want to translate from, and three other languages you want to translate to. You have more than 100 to choose from. Then either type or speak to translate. Multi Translate keeps a running history of everything you’ve translated, which is searchable via Spotlight. The app also includes iMessage support, Apple Watch support, and the ability to share results.

Regression Calc ( $1.99 → Free ) Sanjeev Mullick Regression Calc provides an easy way to visualize curves. Add as many points as necessary and Regression Calc will plot them on a graph for you. You’re able to generate nine different regressions including linear, cubic, logarithmic, and exponential. The app also computes r² values to show the accuracy of each regression.

My Graphing Calculator ( $0.99 → Free ) Math Inside Why buy an expensive graphing calculator when you can have one on your iDevice for free? My Graphing Calculator features a standard scientific calculator that supports complex numbers and saves all of your calculations on history tape. It also allows you to view the values of your functions in table form, set variable start values, graph up to four functions simultaneously, and present results in either portrait or landscape orientations.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 01/14/2018

January 14, 2018 by RSS Feed

OfficeSuite PRO Mobile Office , National Gallery of Art HD , Tower of Fortune and more

iPhone:

Tower of Fortune ( $0.99 → Free ) Game Stew Play as a retired hero who is forced to draw his sword once again when his daughter is taken by an unknown power. Spin the wheel to battle opponents, earn gold, and obtain special items. The game includes 39 different enemies, 37 types of equipment, 39 combat quests, 12 tavern quests, and three different endings.

Universal:

OfficeSuite PRO Mobile Office ( $14.99 → Free ) MobiSystems, Inc. OfficeSuite can handle just about anything you throw at it. It allows you to create, view, and edit any document format including DOC, RTF, TXT, XLS, CSV, and PPT. Its powerful file manager allows you to access and work with common files types like ZIP, JPG, TIFF, MP3, and MP4. OfficeSuite features a familiar interface, allowing you to craft compelling and beautiful documents with ease. It also includes Wi-Fi file transfer, search, access to cloud services, more than 70 fonts and 250 functions to utilize, templates, and even a night mode.

National Gallery of Art HD ( $1.99 → Free ) Evolution Games LLP This is the ultimate art gallery app. The collection of 920 paintings can be broken down by genre or by name. You can also search for specific paintings by artist or name. You’ll find only the best paintings from prominent artists like Van Gogh, Leonardo da Vinci, Rembrandt, El Greco, Goya, Botticelli, and more. Paintings can be saved as favorites for quick access later on, and you can even save them to your library.

Spin Spell ( $1.99 → Free ) Vermont Digital Arts LLC Spin Spell finally makes spelling fun. Your child must navigate a ball around 3-D mazes and collect the correct letters to spell the word at the bottom of the screen. They’ll receive bonuses and achievements by collecting letters sequentially and avoiding the wrong ones. The game includes 25 pre-made levels, 30 spellings lists, adjustable controls, and the ability to create spelling lists and levels.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 01/13/2018

January 13, 2018 by RSS Feed

GeoBee Challenge , Trick Shot , Musical Paint For Kids and more

Universal:

GeoBee Challenge ( $1.99 → Free ) National Geographic Society National Geographic will help you find out if you know your stuff no matter your age. The object of the game is to correctly answer the multiple choice questions and discover the locations on the map as quickly as possible since both are scored separately. You must also hit a target score to move on to the next round, otherwise you’ll have to start all over. The game includes more than 1,300 questions, and more than 1,000 locations to pick out. It also includes achievements and leaderboards via Game Center.

Trick Shot ( $1.99 → Free ) Jonathan Topf In each of the 100 levels, all you have to do is throw a ball into a box. How difficult can that be? Turns out, pretty difficult. The ball in question is super duper bouncy, and the path to the box is almost always obstructed. Pull back in the target area to launch the ball and bounce it off of anything and everything, just as long as it’s not the edges of the box. Otherwise you won’t achieve a perfect rating. On the positive side, you get as many chances as you like to score a trick shot.

Musical Paint For Kids ( $1.99 → Free ) Building Blocks Media Musical Paint For Kids provides a multi-sensory experience for your child. They’re able to select from six adjustable colors and then paint their hearts out. Each color is accompanied by a different tune, so each stroke will create beautiful music. Your child can sign their work of art before saving it, adding a nice personal touch.

Multiplication Flash Cards Games Fun Math Problems ( $3.99 → Free ) Eggroll Games LLC Multiplication Flashcard Match Games is loaded with positive reinforcement. It will help your child learn to multiply by having them play a variety of memory matching games. You’re able to choose the best number range for your child’s skill level, but no matter which you choose your child will be able to hear the numbers and equations as they are touched. After each round, they’ll receive positive feedback and balloon popping rewards. Hints are available along the way, and “Show Me” and “Peek” features make it even easier for young learners to enjoy.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Cinco Paus is an Interesting and Experimental Roguelike

January 12, 2018 by RSS Feed

Cinco Paus ($4.99) by Michael Brough is a compact roguelike that's captivating and challenging. If you were a fan of Brough's other titles, such as 868-HACK, then you'll truly appreciate what Cinco Paus has to offer.

I've been playing and reviewing iOS games for years now, and one thing I love about it is discovering all of the quirky and eccentric titles that indies come up with. I mean sure, we all love a good triple-A game from a big name studio, but sometimes the real gems are from indie developers. And Brough is one of those devs. I remember checking out 868-HACK several years ago and falling in love with the unique gameplay. Needless to say, I became a fan of Brough after that, and am eager to check out anything new that he creates. Cinco Paus is another fine addition to my game collection.

First, some background regarding "cinco paus." The game's name, as well as all in-game text and even the App Store description, is in Portuguese. This is not a glitch or bug, so don't try to change it to your native language (I can't even figure that out, honestly). The phrase "cinco paus" literally translates to "five bucks," which is accurate in U.S. dollars. It also means "five sticks," which is what the game involves, though technically they're wands.

I'm not sure why everything must be in Portuguese, but I'm guessing that it's an experiment by the developer. That is, to demonstrate how most games appear to those who do not understand English, and have no option to change the game text to their own native language. While I don't understand the text in Cinco Paus right now, I'm finding learning through experimentation to be rather fun, and it certainly is an interesting approach.

$4.99

868-HACK

Michael Brough

Visually, Cinco Paus is bit on the stranger side, as the cartoonish style is what I would imagine an acid trip being like. In fact, it reminds me of the art style of some adult swim cartoons, but honestly, it just makes Brough's game even more unique and special. The colors in Cinco Paus are bright and colorful, which are sure to bring a smile to your face, even if you don't understand what the game is saying. Despite this fact, Cinco Paus has icons (some straightforward while others are more obscure) that appear after you've used one of the staffs, so there's a little guidance as to what's happening. Animations in Cinco Paus are smooth and fluid, so there's no issues with lag or choppy frame rates on my iPhone 8 Plus. The game's soundtrack is also a bit weird, but delightful to listen to.

Since Cinco Paus is a roguelike, that means that each round is randomly generated, so it's never going to be the same game twice. The goal in Cinco Paus is to help your wizard character get from the starting point to the exit, which takes you to the next area. There's enemies that are in the way that resemble various animals, like frogs, prawns, and lizards. On top of that, there's items like keys to unlock chests, and even tomes that can modify the properties of your wands and staffs.

The controls in Cinco Paus are simple and straightforward, especially if you've played turn-based roguelikes before. Just swipe on the screen in the direction that you want to move to, and the wizard will do so, assuming that there's nothing in the way like a wall or enemy. You can swipe into an enemy to do a basic attack, but keep in mind that some take multiple hits to kill (life points indicated by the dots), and can hit you back as long as it's alive.

Fortunately, that's where the wands come in. At the top of the screen will be five sticks, which are the wizards wands and staffs. To use them, just drag the one you want to the wizard, and make sure that it's pointing outward in the direction you want it to face. Once you release your finger, it will activate, sending out a shot that can dish out some nice damage to enemies, so you want it to hit something.

But be careful when using these wands though, because you only have five of them, and they won't get replenished until you reach the next area. Also, icons show up next to each wand after it's used, revealing their properties. The properties get randomized with each game, so it may not be the same on your next run. The attributes can mean that a wand does double damage to frogs, or teleport you past an enemy. You won't know what a wand does until you use it, so it forces you to make use of your resources and also observe what they do.

Unless you know Portuguese, Cinco Paus will be one of those games that you may enjoy but have to figure out everything scientifically, as none of the text helps you out. It's different, refreshing, and a welcome challenge. And with a different loadout for each game you play, it's always going to be a surprise, and who doesn't like surprises?

CInco Paus is a quirky and lighthearted roguelike that's all about experimentation.

The Good

Cinco Paus is a special gem on the App Store. The game is full of quirkiness and charm, from the choice of language to the graphics and music. While many may not understand what the text says, the game is simple enough to figure out through mere observation and trial-and-error. I also like the randomization aspect, as it brings a fresh new experience on each run.

The Bad

While I like Cinco Paus for what it's worth, it may not be everyone's cup of tea. The language barrier may be bothersome for some, and the art style is rather unorthodox. Like they say, this game may be an acquired taste for fans of Brough's previous work.

This is definitely not a standard game, and takes a bit of getting used to. But if you can get through the hurdles, then it's rather enjoyable.

The verdict

As a fan of Brough's other games, I think Cinco Paus is another great hidden gem from him that I'm happy to have in my collection. The distinctive art style makes me think of obscure adult swim cartoons, and I think the experimental approach with Portuguese is a fascinating perspective on language barriers in games.

The gameplay itself is easy to pick up and learn after a few tries, and I enjoy the fact that each staff has a new set of properties in each game. It keeps you on your toes and you must try them all out in the first level to know and understand what their properties are. On top of that, there are a lot of other things in the game to learn as you play, such as enemy behaviors and what items do.

This is a game that will keep you interested and coming back for more. Cinco Paus is available on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone and iPad for $4.99.

8.7

OVERALL

Replayability 9

Game Controls 9

Gameplay 9

Graphics 8

Sound/Music 8.5

$4.99

Cinco Paus

Michael Brough

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 315 Next

Page 3 of 315

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL