topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 02/24/2018

February 24, 2018 by RSS Feed

Argus Pedometer & Step Counter , Color Query Pro , Longbox - A place for your comics and more

iPhone:

Argus Pedometer & Step Counter ( $1.99 → Free ) Gaurav Babbar Argus will keep you honest about your fitness. Set goals, put your iPhone in your pocket, and get to work. Argus will track your activity throughout the day and notify you when you’ve achieved your distance, calorie, and step goals. The app also generates weekly reports and allows you to export the data.

Color Query Pro ( $1.99 → Free ) Alan Meyers Color Query puts you in the know. Just point your iPhone at a wall or other object and snap a photo. Color Query will analyze the photo to determine its name and properties like RGB, CMYK, HSB, and HEX. You’re also able to compare colors to five standard pallets, adjust colors, view variations, and save up to 15 samples.

Longbox - A place for your comics ( $1.99 → Free ) Alex Stone Every comic fan has a pull list. Longbox helps you keep track of it. You’re able to search for titles by name, or you can browse the current week’s new releases. If something piques your interest, tap to view more information like a synopsis, variant covers, stock number, and diamond code. Comics can also be shared with friends via your favorite methods.

Universal:

Slide Tetromino Premium ( $0.99 → Free ) ECO Pawel Jarosz Each level includes a single flame, movable pieces, and very little room to operate in. It’s up to you to slide the pieces every which way in order to create a path from the frozen key to the flame. Levels aren’t timed, but your moves will be counted. The game includes a total of 100 levels.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Riddle, ‘sodes, Thunderly and other apps to check out this weekend

February 24, 2018 by RSS Feed

This week’s edition of our Apps of the Week roundup features a new app for capturing reactions to photos and videos, a new, lightweight podcast client and an app for tracking storms around the globe. And as always, we’ve selected two great new games for you to check out.

Riddle

Here is an interesting app concept: capture the recipient’s reaction when you send them a cute photo or funny video. That’s essentially what Riddle is. So instead of replying with a bunch of crying-laughing emoji to a funny clip, the person who sent you the video can actually see you crying-laughing. Now I know this isn’t going to be for everyone—it takes all of the anonymity/stealthiness out of texting—and it’s a bummer you and your friends/family have to join a new network to experience this. But again I am intrigued by the idea of seeing genuine reactions to messages, and felt this app was worth checking out. Riddle is available for free.

‘sodes

Podcast apps aren’t one of those things you change very often. Folks typically find one they like and stick with it. But, for those of you who are new to the podcast world, or looking for a change, ‘sodes seems worth checking out. The app bills itself as a “casual, cozy way to listen to the occasional podcast.” There are no download queues or tricked out audio features, and no accounts to worry about. Everything happens on your device. Simply tap an episode and it starts playing. The UI looks great, with large, tappable buttons and there are multiple color themes to choose from. ‘sodes is available for $2.99.

Thunderly

Do you love storms? Then you’ll love this app. Thunderly. It features a photorealistic globe that shows real-time lightning all around the world. The globe shows accurate day and night cycles, real-time clouds and precipitation, and you can view lightning history for the last hour. You can zoom in and out, and even stream lightning from the other side of the world using your device’s camera flash. Finally, the developers say there is an Easter egg that allows you to see real-time aurora. Thunderly is available for free.

Rogue Hearts

Rogue Hearts is a modern reinterpretation of the rogue-like dungeon crawler genre. You will need a strategy with self-judgement and control, a necessity in SRPG and tactical games, to break through challenges and trials by controlling the character directly. Features include vast regions with diverse themes and randomly generated dungeons, optimized and intuitive controls, boss monsters, and more. Rogue Hearts is available for $0.99 (with some IAPs).

Glitch Dash

Glitch Dash is an endless runner in witch you must doge your way past hammers, axes, geometric obstacles and lasers to get the high score. The abstract world is beautiful, the obstacles are extremely challenging, and the gameplay is intense. Other features include funky graphics, epic beat driven gameplay to music, and the ability to score a perfect run for ultimate bragging rights. Glitch Dash is available for free (with some IAPs).

More apps to check out

Source link: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2018/02/24/apps-on-apps-on-apps/

credit : idownloadblog

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Unravel Abstract Designs and Colors in Dissembler

February 23, 2018 by RSS Feed

Dissembler ($2.99) by Ian MacLarty is a minimalistic puzzle game about unraveling bold, abstract designs, one color at a time. It's like a match-three game, except for the fact that no more tiles come to replace the ones you clear out. If you enjoyed recent titles like Stack & Crack, Invert, and Crystal Cove, then you'll like what Dissembler has to offer.

Though most of my time is taken up by Monster Hunter: World these days, I still love my puzzle games. In fact, I still prefer them when I just want to do nothing but relax, as it definitely helps take my mind off of the more stressful things going on right now. And while it feels like I've gone through most of the different types of puzzle games on the App Store, I can't help but keep an eye out for more, as I can't get enough. When I saw Dissembler on the App Store, I knew it was another one that I needed in my collection, and when I saw it was by the guy who made Boson X, it just confirmed it.

$0.99

Stack & Crack

Jambav, Inc

$2.99

Invert - Tile Flipping Puzzles

Noodlecake Studios Inc

$1.99

Crystal Cove

Andrey Spencer

$2.99

Boson X

Ian MacLarty

Visually, Dissembler is pretty simple and clean. On the surface, it looks just like a 2D game, but with the shadow effects and how the tiles flip, there's more layers of depth to it than meets the eye. The creamy beige backdrop provides great contrast for the colored tiles that you're matching, and the tiles are bright and vibrant. Animations are smooth and fluid on my iPhone 8 Plus, and the game features an ambient soundtrack that helps with relaxing your mind. If you're colorblind, the default colors may be a bit hard to see, so fortunately, the developer implemented a colorblind mode as well. The clicking sound effects are fun to listen to, at least for me, and remind me of wind-up toys. Overall, the developer did an excellent job with the visual and audio design for Dissembler.

Dissembler has three game modes: Puzzle (Default), Daily, and Infinite. In Puzzle, players go through a series of various designs, figuring out the correct sequence to make the matches (at least three or more) of tiles in order to clear them all out and have a clean slate. Daily has a new set of puzzles for each day, meaning something new to look forward to. The puzzles in these two modes start out simple enough, but become more intricate and complex as you go, requiring some thought and planning to make sure no tile gets left behind.

Infinite is slightly different than the other two modes. Instead of dealing with single-colored squares, you'll have squares with three rings of color to them, all arranged neatly in a square grid. There's the outer, middle, and inner rings, which are all different colors. You'll be matching the outer ring color first, and then the middle ring expands to fill the outer layer, the inner ring becomes the middle, and a new color shows up in the center. You'll make matches until there are no more possible moves. Infinite also has Relaxed and Hard modes, so you can pick the flavor that best suits the mood you're in.

Controls in Dissembler are easy enough for anyone to understand, and it's pretty intuitively designed for touch screens. Honestly, it would be hard to play something like Dissembler with physical button controls, so this is the perfect platform for it. To swap a colored tile with an adjacent one, just swipe on it in the direction you want to swap it with. If it's a viable move, then the two become a single piece and "flip" over. Otherwise, they just return to their original position.

Remove all of the colored tiles by flipping tiles to make matches.

The Good

Dissembler is a unique matching puzzle that is not your typical match-three. It demands strategizing and planning to figure out the correct sequence to make your matches in, almost like a brain teaser. And while it's proper to go through the puzzles in order, there is an option to Unlock All, so you can play them in any order that you want, which is nice for those who get stuck easily.

The Infinite mode is the most fun, though. I like that it offers this, because I usually just prefer to play endless games and just try to best my own scores. Having the personal challenge keeps me motivated to play.

On top of it all, Dissembler has some great minimal aesthetics and charming sound and music. Like the developers other games, this is another one that's well designed.

The Bad

Honestly, it's hard to find anything negative about Dissembler. But if I had to pick out a flaw, it's the fact that a game about colors doesn't let players change the color theme. There's only the default option and colorblind mode. I would like to see a variety of color palettes added in the future, which could spice up the game to suit everyone's favorite hues.

The verdict

As a big puzzle lover, Dissembler may be my new favorite for the time being. I love the simple and clean graphics, the music is charming, and the gameplay is fun and challenging. I also like the fact that there are no in-app purchases, and the game even lets you unlock all of the puzzles so you can go through them all at your own pace. I just hope to see more color palettes added in future updates, just to add some variety.

Dissembler is available on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone and iPad for just $2.99.

9.2

OVERALL

Game Controls 10

Replayability 9

Graphics 9

Sound/Music 9

Gameplay 9

$2.99

Dissembler

Ian MacLarty

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 02/23/2018

February 23, 2018 by RSS Feed

Brightly - Fix Dark Photos , WorkVisual App , Learn French - MosaLingua and more

iPad:

WorkVisual App ( $35.99 → Free ) Visual Manufactory GmbH WorkVisual aims to make working digitally on events and workshops easier. It’s a live drawing app that allows you to project drawings as a whole or as zoomed in. With up to 8,000 pixel resolution, you’re able to zoom in on content without losing much detail. A full array of brushes and colors are available at your disposal, and you can save presets for quick access. Multiple drawings can be created, saved, and searched for via tags.

Universal:

Brightly - Fix Dark Photos ( $2.99 → Free ) Code Organa Poorly lit photos happen. There’s no way around it. But Brightly can rescue those photos with little effort. Its advanced computer vision correction system instantly reverses mistakes with amazing results. Just slide your finger across the bottom of the screen to adjust the lighting levels. A set of fine-tuning adjustments are available as well as a photo editing extension and lock screen widget.

Learn French - MosaLingua ( $4.99 → Free ) MosaCrea Limited MosaLingua will help you memorize thousands of French vocabulary words, key phrases, and conjugations in no time. All it takes is five minutes each day for two months and you will have memorized 600 words and key phrases. Nothing to it, right? The app utilizes a flashcard system with audio pronunciations by native French speakers. MosaLingua includes more than 3,000 flash cards, 14 categories, more than 100 subcategories, and the ability to unlock fun bonus content.

Cubes : brain teaser ( $0.99 → Free ) zPower Software FZE Cubes is good clean fun. The idea is to move cubes around the screen with a swipe in order to recreate the patterns. The catch is that all of the cubes move in unison, so the only way to rearrange them is to push them up against the various barriers. The game includes 127 levels in all.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Take an Adventure Through the Desert Oasis in Alto's Odyssey

February 22, 2018 by RSS Feed

Alto's Odyssey ($4.99) by Team Alto is the highly anticipated sequel to the 2015 hit, Alto's Adventure. If you loved the first game and can't get enough, then Alto's Odyssey is a must. It's also great even if you never touched the first one, as it's a standalone infinite runner experience.

Since the App Store debuted back in 2008, I've grown a love-hate relationship with the endless running genre. I had fallen in love with Canabalt when it first came out, and it remained one of my go-to games when I was bored. Then I saw other runners come out over the years, like Temple Run, Robot Unicorn Attack, and Ski Safari, as well as clones of those as well. At some point, it seemed like every developer was releasing an infinite runner of their own, following tried-and-true formulas like Temple Run's over-the-shoulder or the classic side scrolling view. It all started to feel the same to me, and it got tiresome.

Then Alto's Adventure came along.

When I first saw Alto's Adventure, I was pulled in immediately by the minimalistic, yet gorgeous aesthetic of the visuals, especially the dynamic weather and lighting system. I was still a bit skeptical at first, but once I tried it out, I fell in love with it immediately. It was an elegant infinite runner, combining a trick system that you'd usually find in snowboarding or skateboarding games. It was different at the time.

Alto's Odyssey was first teased in December 2016, and was aiming for 2017 release, but it was delayed. Now it's here, and I must say that it's been well worth the wait.

$4.99

Alto's Adventure

Snowman

$0.99

Ski Safari

Defiant Development Pty.Ltd

$0.99

Ski Safari 2

SLEEPY Z STUDIOS PTY LTD

Visually, Alto's Odyssey retains the same simple and clean look that the first game has, except it now takes place in a desert dune with various biomes and temple ruins rather than a snowy mountainside. With this in mind, Odyssey features a much more lush and detailed world than its predecessor, and it introduces new obstacles that can either help you or hinder you, depending on the situation. The dynamic weather and lighting cycles mean that the backdrop is constantly changing and shifting, and it's still just a sight to behold. Animations are buttery smooth and fluid, and I had no issues with lag or choppy frame rates on my iPhone 8 Plus.

The soundtrack is pretty marvelous as well. While the first game's soundtrack was a bit more whimsical, Odyssey's music feels more ambient, atmospheric, and serene. It reflects the overall tone of a desert oasis, and it's rather immersive. The sound effects are realistic, and it all adds another layer of depth to the game, especially with the weather sounds. Overall, Team Alto has once again knocked it out of the park in terms of visual and audio design.

While the Alto games were never story driven, there's a lot of secrets to discover in Odyssey. It's an infinite sandboarding adventure, and this time, there's a variety of biomes to discover as you explore the endless desert oasis. The biomes range from regular old dunes to canyons and temples. On top of that, players will find hot air balloons that they can bounce off of, and even tornadoes that give them some hang time for more tricks.

The controls remain the same as before. Alto and his friends move forward automatically, but you tap to jump and do a long press while in the air for backflips. Doing backflips over chasms grants a slight boost in momentum, and that can help you get across the gap. You can jump into tornados to get lifted into the air, or jump on top of the hot air balloons to bounce off.

A new mechanic is the wallriding. When you have the Sandboard, you're able to ride along certain walls. When these come up, just tap-and-hold to ride the wall and go up higher. You can use these to propel yourself and jump off to do tricks. Some chasms also require wallriding to get across, but you can't wallride while flipping, so make sure to keep that in mind.

There are coins to collect, which you can spend in the Workshop to get upgrades for power-up items, like the Coin Magnet and Lotus Flower (protects you from crashes). There are also one-time use items that you can purchase, such as the Helmet (saves you from one crash) and Chasm Rescue pickaxes. The Wingsuit makes a return, of course, allowing you to fly once it's charged up from doing tricks. There are also some new items: Mysterious Radio, once bought, will appear randomly and drop something useful when there's someone on the other end. There's also the Sandboard and Compass, but you'll have to find these in the game first before you can purchase them.

The goals have made a comeback as well, with a total of 180 to strive for. They come in sets of three, and you'll have to complete all three before you level up and gain access to the next set of objectives. Once you've done all three, you earn the stars and level up. When you level up, you'll gain access to Alto's friends, who you can then play as. Each one has their own set of strengths and weaknesses, which you'll have to discover as you unlock them.

One character is better at backflips than others, while another has longer invincibility frames, another is faster, and someone else is better at jumping. Each character is good for achieving something that isn't possible with another.

If you don't feel like stressing out over goals, then just hop into the Zen Mode. Here, you don't have goals, points, coins, or power-ups to worry about. It's just you and the desert, and if you crash, you just pick your board up and keep going. Alto's Odyssey also has the Photo Mode, accessible from the Pause menu, where you can capture stunning moments from your desert adventure to share with others.

Alto and his friends have moved from snowboarding mountains to sandboarding dunes.

The Good

Alto's Odyssey may have taken about three years to make, but honestly, it's been well worth the wait. The game is absolutely gorgeous with the desert landscape and dynamic weather and lighting effects. The new biomes give the game even more variety as far as what you see, and they're quite stunning to look at. And the new mechanics, like the tornados and hot air balloons, made a great game even better, as it just improved upon the original template.

The goals system keeps the game interesting, and if the last one proved anything, it's the fact that you'll always come back and try to complete them all for the other characters. The game has high replay value, and it's just a joy to play.

The Bad

The only negative is that some of the goals are super hard to complete, and you may be stuck at one level for a long time. But that just means that the game is challenging, and you'll have a reason to keep playing.

The verdict

Alto's Odyssey is an improvement on an already great, classic iOS game. I never thought that you could improve on perfection, but Team Alto has done it. The graphics in Odyssey look even better than the first, and those were already great. The music is soothing and immersive, the new mechanics just add another layer of depth to everything, and there's high replay value. I mean, honestly, what more do you want? Plus, it's a premium game with zero in-app purchases, which is a rarity these days.

This game took three years to land in our hands, but Team Alto proved it was worth the wait. The desert has never looked so good before.

Alto's Odyssey is available on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV for $4.99.

9.7

OVERALL

Game Controls 10

Graphics 10

Sound/Music 10

Replayability 9.5

Gameplay 9

$4.99

Alto's Odyssey

Snowman

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
1 2 ... 328 Next

Page 1 of 328

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL