topimg

Show Off Your Spaceship Piloting Skills in Hyperburner

June 23, 2016 by macjeff

Hyperburner ($2.99) by Patrick Cook is an high-speed space flier that will make you feel like you’re truly in the future. If you enjoyed games like Boson X, Race the Sun, and Power Hover, then you will love what Hyperburner brings to the table.

While we are now in the year 2016, I still don’t see the flying cars and solid plans for living on another planet just yet, all of which I dreamed we would have by now as a kid. It’s a bit disappointing, I know, but I’m sure we will get there…eventually. I suppose that’s one reason why I enjoy burying myself in sci-fi themed television shows, movies, and even games. Honestly, who wouldn’t want to fly a futuristic spaceship at super fast speeds through amazing new galaxies and worlds? Naturally, when I heard of Hyperburner a few months ago, I knew that this was something I had to get my hands on. Now that it’s finally arrived on the App Store, I am not disappointed.

Visually, Hyperburner is rather impressive, and it can be played in your choice of portrait or landscape mode. The game takes place in the future with a distant colonial solar system, so that means gorgeous intergalactic settings that you’ll be flying through at high speeds. The game is rendered in 3-D and looks amazing, with enough depth to make you feel like you’re there. Hyperburner features six different zones that all have their own distinctive traits, and the colors in the game range from bright and vibrant to soft pastels. Regardless of the area you’re in, you’ll see every last bit of detail in the environment and even the ship you’re flying — the developer cut no corners here. Animations are incredibly smooth and fluid as you play, which is important since everything is rather fast-paced. I experienced no lag on my iPhone 6s Plus, but keep in mind that the game is only compatible with iPhone 5 or higher, and iPad Air or higher. I also love the soundtrack that plays in the background — it’s full of catchy techno music that fits in well with the space and sci-fi theme. The end result is that the developer put together a fantastic visual and audio package in Hyperburner, and it’s well worth the money to experience it for yourself.

As mentioned, Hyperburner features six different zones in the game, and there are about five different stages to each of them. For these set levels, there is an endpoint that you must reach before moving on to the next stage, whether that be the next one in the sector or the next level recommended by the game itself. You’ll be able to see your progress through a stage in the upper right corner, though it may be hard to take your eyes away from the action so you don’t crash, but later levels will be harder to complete since the obstacles become trickier with movement patterns and your ship’s speed is increased. As you play the game and do well, you’ll unlock different ships to fly (with their own strengths and weaknesses, like shield strength), even faster speeds, and the challenging endless mode. All-in-all, the gameplay and additional content to discover keep things fresh and interesting, so you will definitely keep coming back to this one for a while.

Controls in Hyperburner are incredibly simple and intuitive. All you have to do is drag your finger around to move the ship left, right, up and down. The moment you lift your finger from the screen, the game pauses, and continues immediately when your finger is back on the screen. It’s seamless and just makes sense for this type of game. If you crash into an obstacle along the course, the run ends but you just tap on the screen to re-spawn at the beginning and try again. Since there are no checkpoints during the course, you’ll have to make it to the endpoint in one go if you want to clear it, so while it sounds easy, things get much more challenging in later stages. Chances are you’ll be dying quite a bit in the game (mastering it is difficult), so having instant re-spawns is nice.

I’ve only downloaded Hyperburner yesterday, but I’ve been playing the game a lot since it landed on my iPhone. The game looks beautiful, the music is quirky and fun, and the gameplay itself is immersive and challenging. Having simple and responsive controls wraps up the great experience, and I’m just having a hard time putting the game down. I just hope to see more stages added in the future so the variety in levels never ends.

I highly recommend checking out Hyperburner, especially if you’re into sci-fi at all or just love space fliers. Hyperburner is on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone and iPad for just $2.99. There are no in-app purchases.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 06/23/2016

June 23, 2016 by macjeff

Planet of Cubes : Multi Craft , Tiggly Doctor: Spell Verbs and Perform Actions Like a Real Doctor , Tiggly Submarine: Preschool ABC Game and more

Universal:

Planet of Cubes : Multi Craft ( $0.99 → FREE )

Planet of Cubes places you in an open environment with an unlimited amount of other players located worldwide. When you’re placed on the planet, you’re provided with your very own rental space where you can build anything you want from cubes. But be careful, because rental spaces will expire, and when they do you can be locked out of building on them and another player can take over. The game includes more than 160 different players skins to choose from, built-in chat, and the ability to explore anything and everything on the planet.

Tiggly Doctor: Spell Verbs and Perform Actions Like a Real Doctor ( $2.99 → FREE )

Your child gets to be a doctor for the day. The waiting room is full of patients with unique ailments who require your child’s attention. They’ll get to perform a series of operations like putting bones back in place, pulling dancing worms out of wounds, and much more all while building more than 200 verbs.

Tiggly Submarine: Preschool ABC Game ( $2.99 → FREE )

Your child is able to explore the sea by tapping and dragging Tiggly and his submarine around. When they come across a character, they can latch on to an anchor point and start creating short words. There’s no wrong way to play. Just explore and create.

Wardwell House ( $0.99 → FREE )

Lost at sea with no hope, you somehow drift onto the shores of a mysterious island. Exhausted and a bit unhinged from your travels, you stumble your way into the forest. Only now do you realize the situation you’re in, and it becomes more and more horrifying with each step you take. Explore the dark and mysterious environments simply by moving your iDevice through the air and uncover the secret of Wardwell House.

Markdown - Powerful markdown editor for Medium ( $2.99 → FREE )

When your documents need to be beautifully formatted and shared with the world, there’s Markdown. It allows you to easily create documents using Markdown syntax thanks to its custom keyboard. Your documents can include bold text, headers, links, tables, and more with the tap of a button. Markdown allows you to preview your work to ensure everything is formatted correctly before sharing it as a webpage, posting it to Medium, or simply syncing it with Dropbox.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Best app deals of the day! 6 paid iPhone apps for free for a limited time

June 23, 2016 by macjeff

Everyone likes free apps, but sometimes the best ones are a bit expensive. Now and then, developers put paid apps on sale for a limited time, but you have to snatch them up fast. Here are the latest and greatest apps on sale in the iOS App Store.

The post Best app deals of the day! 6 paid iPhone apps for free for a limited time appeared first on Digital Trends.

Source link: http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/daily-app-deals-ios-06-23-2016/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Quick review: traveling smart with Radar, Yahoo’s new iPhone app for planning trips

June 22, 2016 by macjeff

Yahoo today released a brand new mobile application for planning trips, Radar for the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. The app is available at no charge in the App Store and includes a smart chat bot that you can interact with. Using data from a number of popular third-party services, like Yelp and TripAdvisor, Radar delivers personalized recommendations of sights to see, activities and restaurants in an attractively designed mobile user interface.

After using it briefly, I can safely say that Radar is one of the best mobile apps Yahoo has published in a while.

Exploring US cities with Radar

Exploring US cities is a breeze with Radar for iPhone.

Whether you’re planning a trip or want to try something different in your hometown, Radar brings you premium results gleaned from trusted sources across the web. Third-party data is combined with Yahoo’s expertise in search, communications and content, allowing for a seamless experience.

In addition to Yahoo Mail, Radar supports other email providers, including Gmail and Outlook.com. After signing in with an email account, Radar will set you up in no time by analyzing all the upcoming flight, hotel and rental car confirmation receipts in your inbox.

But don’t worry, you can use the app even if you don’t have any confirmation receipts in your inbox: just answer a few questions asked by the bot by tapping various bubbles at the bottom of the screen to tell the app about the locations you’re interested in.

Personalized recommendations

This will help Radar tailor recommendations to your liking, from must-see sights to the best restaurants in town. For those wondering, Radar includes recommendations in the “Sights to see” and “Places to eat” sections for 16,000 cities in the United States.

Recommendations can be filtered based on your preferences and month of travel and you can explore tips from travelers who have already been there.

It’s nice that you can create your own bucket list of the best restaurants and places to see, see your trip itineraries, including flights, hotels and rental car reservations, and get alerted of flight delays, gate changes, flight cancellations and check-in reminders.

In my brief hands-on time with Radar, I was able to interact with the built-in chat bot to explore a few interesting places in the United States. I also checked out a few nice restaurants in Las Vegas and got recommendations for appropriate activities.

Summing, up Radar is a cool app with nicely laid out presentation, rich data sets and useful features that you’ll enjoy using for planning trips, research and exploring interesting places in the US.

Pricing and availability

Radar requires an iPhone, iPod touch and iPad with iOS 8.0 or later. At the time of this writing, the app was limited to people in the United States, but international readers can easily run Radar by setting their device’s regional settings to United States, or create a US App Store account to download Radar.

Grab Radar for free on the App Store.

Source link: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2016/06/21/yahoo-radar-for-iphone/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Snapseat Makes Browsing Movie Showtimes Beautiful and Fun

June 22, 2016 by macjeff

Snapseat - Browse nearest cinema movies ($0.99) by Mads Jensen is the most beautiful showtimes app you’ll find on the App Store. If you love going to the movies, especially now in the summer, then this app is worth checking out.

Summer is officially in session, and that means a lot of trips to the movie theater, at least for me. While many of the summer blockbusters have already made their debuts this year, there are still some good films to look forward to, such as “Independence Day: Resurgence” this week, “Ghostbusters” next month, and even “Doctor Strange” later in the year. I’ve been to the theaters numerous times already in the past couple of months, since it seems the most interesting films start coming out in May. And like many of you, I use apps like Moviefone or Regal to check showtimes when I’m planning an outing with my friends and family. But let’s face it — those apps aren’t necessarily pretty to look at, though they get the job done. So when I came across Snapseat, I was in awe from how gorgeous the app looked, so I had to check it out myself.

In terms of aesthetics, Snapseat is downright stunning. It places a lot of focus on the visuals of films, as it features thumbnails of the posters on the left column on top of another lead image from the movie (it could be a closeup of the poster or not). You can also easily identify the movie since the title is in fairly big text on top of the image, and the average star rating and showtimes are displayed underneath. The best part about Snapseat are the subtle but smooth animations as you transition from the listing view to see movie details, as well as the amazing parallax effect as you scroll, which makes everything pop out with a 3-D effect. It’s great eye candy, and pretty refreshing to see in the showtime app genre.

When you launch Snapseat and grant it permission to use your location, the first thing you’ll see is a list of movies that are playing near you. The current city that you are in will be shown at the top of the screen, and the showtimes for each film appear in a line under the titles. Naturally, the newer movies are on the top, and you’ll see older movies (along with fewer showtimes) as you scroll down.

To view a movie, just tap on it to get a brief synopsis, director, genre, and rating info. Snapseat also lets you watch high-definition trailers just by tapping on the “Play” button. You also get to see how Trakt.tv users are reacting to the film, in case what other people think will sway you one way or another in regards to seeing the movie. And since this is still a showtimes app, Snapseat shows you up to six theaters in your current area that are playing the movie as well as the times they’re showing the movie. When you find a time that you think works for you, just tap on it, and you can share the movie with your friends to plan an outing, or you can book tickets directly through movietickets.com. It’s an overall super easy process.

If you’re interested in checking out what is upcoming, just tap on the calendar icon in the floating tab bubble at the bottom of the listing section. The Upcoming section works a bit differently than the “Out Now” view. In Upcoming, you can see the movie posters and parallax effect images, but rather than have showtimes, you see the announced release date and “how hot” the movie will be, based on data from Trakt.tv. Tapping a movie will let you watch a trailer (if available), and you’ll get a plot summary, director info, and you can have Snapseat alert you to when the movie is going to be in a theater near you.

Overall, I like using Snapseat because it looks fantastic, and it gives me the information I want to know in a glance. However, I did notice some odd things about it that made the experience a little disappointing. First, a new premium theater opened up near my house (Harkins) but it does not appear in Snapseat yet. I’m not sure how the app is getting the info for nearby theaters, but I hope to see added in Snapseat soon enough. It’s also a bit annoying that you can’t favorite your preferred theaters, as it will just show you the six closest ones near you. The other thing that can be improved is the fact that the showtimes only apply to today, so you can’t check on what the showtimes will be tomorrow or over the weekend in advance. So planning a movie outing with friends and family can be tricky, unless you let everyone know in the morning that you want to see a movie later in the evening. Hopefully this changes in the future. I also found it a bit odd that while “Indepence Day: Resurgence” comes out this Friday, June 24, it is nowhere to be found in Snapseat last time I checked the Upcoming section.

While Snapseat is beautiful and polished, there is still a lot of room for improvement. However, if the flaws I mentioned don’t bother you, then I recommend giving Snapseat a try. I’ll be keeping it on my phone, but hope to see changes in future updates.

Snapseat – Browse nearest cinema movies is available on the iPhone App Store for just $0.99.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
Previous 1 ... 311 312 313 ... 395 Next

Page 312 of 395

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL