topimg

Blocs Wave, ProtonMail and other apps to check out this weekend

March 19, 2016 by macjeff

Its the anticipation of Apple’s upcoming iPhone SE event killing you? Don’t worry, we have a great list of apps for you to check out this weekend to help you pass the time. We have a new app that helps you create music, a new email client, and a new game that allows you to create your own Disney amusement park.

Blocs Wave

Blocs Wave is a music creation app designed to inspire new musical ideas, whether you’re an amateur beat-maker or a tenured professional. You can tweak sounds using beautiful touchable waveforms, as well as record vocals and instruments. The entire user interface was designed to help you bring your ideas to life within minutes. This app is available for $4.99.

ProtonMail

With all of the talk these days about hacking and FBI backdoors, it’s no wonder that there’s been a rise of interest in encrypted email service ProtonMail, and its newly launched iOS client (actually, it’s been out for a while, but just became available to everyone this week). The app checks off most of the boxes for a standard email client, but it also features invisible, automatic end-to-end encryption, that ensures only the sender and recipient can read messages. This app is available for free.

Milkeddit

In the market for a new Reddit app? Check this one out. It’s called Milkeddit and it has an impressive list of features right out of the gate. These include multiple account support, 3D Touch support, rich timelines with intuitive gestures, powerful mute filters and search, photo gallery view, and much, much more. It also offers a number of customization options, various themes, and a dark Night mode for late-night reading. This app is available for $1.99.

Talkzer

Talkzer is essentially Instagram, but with audio clips instead of photos. You simply post a 20 seconds audio clip to your timeline, and all of your followers can listen to it and interact with you. You can in turn follow friends, family and even celebrities, and comment on their posts with your own audio clips, creating a conversation of sorts. There is a private messaging feature, and of course you can share posts to Facebook and Twitter. This app is available for free.

Disney Magic Kingdoms

I know it might seem odd to see a Gameloft free-to-play title on this list, but Disney Magic Kingdoms has made a huge splash this week. Like a Disney-branded version of Roller Coaster Tycoon, this game allows you to create your own amusement park using popular Disney Park attractions like “Space Mountain” and characters from all of your favorite Disney movies. This game is available for free.

More apps you should check out

These apps have been updated

Source link: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2016/03/19/apps-of-the-week-march-18/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 03/18/2016

March 18, 2016 by macjeff

Radian - Puzzles with a Twist , Pokerrrr - The Poker Dealer / Poker Battle with Friends , Clone Magic and more

Universal:

Radian - Puzzles with a Twist ( $0.99 → FREE )

Radian is one of those puzzle games that’s easy to learn but difficult to master. The objective is simple enough, requiring you to spin rings of blocks in order to match them to the core color and remove them. All connected blocks will be removed when matched, not just those in vertical or horizontal rows. This allows you to create big combos and earn more points by reducing your amount of spins. The game includes 100 handmade puzzles, an arcade mode, and an infinite mode.

Pokerrrr - The Poker Dealer / Poker Battle with Friends ( $2.99 → FREE )

Pokerrrr is free today to celebrate the release of the developer’s latest app, Donkey League Poker. Check it out now in the App Store. This is about as close to playing with real cards as you can get. The game plays a little differently depending upon what types of iDevices you have sitting around. If you only have iPhones, one will act as the host device. Everyone else will connect to it and will be able to see the community cards on their own screens along with the cards in their hand. Cards can be interacted with and peeked at with a swipe. If you have an iPad, it’s pretty much the same process except that the community cards will be shown only on the iPad and all other of the players will be able to utilize their iDevices as just their hand of cards. The game includes a handful of customization options as well.

Clone Magic ( $1.99 → FREE )

Clone Magic is all about having fun with your photos. You’re able to take new photos manually or by using the self timer. You have to take at least two quality photos for the effect to work, but you’re able to use up to six at once. Then just outline the subject in each of your photos, and Clone Magic will grab your outlines and put them over the top of your base photo. You can crop and apply filters to your final creation before sharing it via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or email.

Subtraction Flashcard Match Games for Kids in Kindergarten, 1st and 2nd Grade ( $3.99 → FREE )

Subtraction Flashcard Match Games creates a fun environment for your child to practice subtraction in with its eye-popping visuals and positive encouragement. Your child can work on matching problems to their answers or matching problems to other problems. The difficulty can be adjusted by changing the number range and by showing the cards or keeping them face down. The game also includes a bubble popping reward after each round.

Dino-Store ( $0.99 → FREE )

Leo and his father headed to the grocery store to pick up some items for breakfast. During their impromptu trip they came across a very large carton of eggs and just had to buy them, but what was inside was more than they bargained for. The app includes 23 pages full of interactive surprises, and the ability to follow along with a professional narrator.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Best app deals of the day! 10 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time

March 18, 2016 by macjeff

Everyone likes free apps, but sometimes the best ones are a bit expensive. Now and then, developers put paid apps on sale for a limited time, but you have to snatch them up fast. Here are the latest and greatest apps on sale in the iOS App Store.

The post Best app deals of the day! 10 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time appeared first on Digital Trends.

Source link: http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/daily-app-deals-ios-03-18-2016/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Telepaint

March 18, 2016 by macjeff

Telepaint ($2.99) by Acid Nerve is a cute little puzzle game involving buckets of paint and colorful messes left behind. If you are looking for a fun and challenging puzzle to check out over the weekend, then Telepaint is worth a look.

I’ve been going through some fairly stressful events in the past few weeks, so I’m super happy that I still have the option of turning to video games to help take my mind off of things. Though a lot of my gaming is done on my 3DS handheld, I still put a bit of time and effort into my mobile iOS games, considering the fact that my iPhone 6s Plus is practically glued to my hand. And during my tenure here at AppAdvice for the past several years, I’ve gone through hundreds of different iOS games, but always love finding new ones, particularly puzzles, to pick up and play. During my perusal of the App Store releases this week, I stumbled on Telepaint, and am super happy that I did — this game is just fantastic.

Visually, Telepaint is downright beautiful. It has a combination of retro, pixelated graphics that take you back to your childhood, as well as an old-school television screen overlay, complete with flickering lines. The game also makes use of traditional RGB colors and static that were always seen on old televisions, so the developers sure didn’t miss a thing when creating the unique aesthetic. Animations in Telepaint are buttery smooth and fluid, with no lag on my iPhone 6s Plus. The upbeat and quirky chiptune soundtrack is a joy to listen to as well, and it’s important to hear it since the game does have a bit of rhythmic puzzle solving going on, so the music helps. And the fun sound effects (that sync with your movements) are just icing on the colorful, explosive cake that this game is.

Like most puzzle games, Telepaint features six different worlds that have its own amount of levels within. At the moment, there are over 100 stages to paint your way through, so you do get a good value for the buck. Several levels will be unlocked at a time, so you don’t have to be super linear about it, but later levels won’t be available until you solve the current ones. Hopefully more are added in the future, though. The objective in each stage is to help the paint bucket reach the paintbrush, and while things start out pretty easy enough, the complexity of the puzzles will rise, leading to some tricky and messy situations. You’ll have to avoid dangers like spikes and explosives, while grabbing keys to unlock access to the paintbrush, using anti-gravity switches to get around obstacles, and much more. As you get further into the game, new mechanics will be introduced as you go, adding to the challenge.

The controls in Telepaint are easy, but will take a few tries to get used to. Your cute paint bucket character will walk forward automatically when a level starts, so you don’t have to worry about that. However, the only way it will turn around and change direction is if it runs into a wall, so you’ll have to figure out ways to achieve that. To get the paint bucket across hazards like spikes, you will have to make use of the colored portals that are scattered on the levels — just tap on a portal square to activate it, but make sure you open up another portal for it to go through on the other side as well, otherwise there’s going to be trouble. The colors of the portals don’t matter, but you can only have two portals open at one time. The moment you tap on a third portal, the first one will close. The portals also close automatically once the bucket passes through them, but you can tap on them again to use them if needed. The trick is to determine the obstacles on the stage first, then figure out the order of portals for you to go through to reach the paintbrush safely.

Since the animation of the bucket walking can be somewhat slow, just tap-and-hold on the fast-forward button at the bottom to speed things up. If your bucket dies, just tap the rewind button to restart the stage. You can also pause or access the menu with the pause and stop buttons on the screen. If you pause, you’re still able to activate the portals, so it’s nice to take advantage of that for planning ahead of time. As you bucket passes through each portal, it leaves a splash of color (according to the portal color) behind, so the end result of the mess is pretty funky and cool.

I’ve been spending a bit of time with Telepaint today, and must say that I’m impressed by the quality of this title. Not only do the graphics look amazing, but the game runs at an incredibly smooth 60 fps, though you can change it to 30 fps in the options for better battery. The music has a nice beat to it as well, so it’s downright fun to listen to. The simple, one-touch controls for the portals is intuitive, so you don’t have to worry about anything being complicated, besides the puzzles, of course. Since there isn’t a point or star system in place, the replay value may be a bit low, but there are plenty of stages to keep you busy for a while. I also hope to see more levels in the future, because this is a game that I plan on keeping on my device for a long time.

I highly recommend checking out Telepaint if you’re a fan of portal-based puzzle games with a lot of charm. This is definitely one of my favorite games this week. Telepaint is available on the App Store as a universal download for your iPhone and iPad for just $2.99. There are no in-app purchases.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Pilots of the Dawn

March 18, 2016 by macjeff

Pilots of the Dawn (Free) by Sapeli Studio Oy is an action-packed, retro dogfighting arcade shooter game. If you’re familiar with the highly-popular Vlambeer classic, Luftrausers, and have been clamoring for an iOS version, well, Pilots of the Dawn is the closest thing you’ll get … for now.

Ever since I heard of and bought Luftrausers on Steam back in 2014, it has earned a spot on my “favorite games of all time” list that I keep in my head. Luftrausers became one of my favorite games because it was from Vlambeer (they make awesome games like Ridiculous Fishing and Super Crate Box), had some awesome sepia-toned retro graphics, and the dogfighting action was downright amazing. Even though I loved playing the game on my laptop, I wished it was available on iOS, since I do most of my gaming that way these days (if not for my 3DS). But honestly, I’m not sure how the controls would translate to touch screen devices, so who knows if we will ever see Luftrausers on mobile. Fortunately, there is now Pilots of the Dawn (PotD) for your mobile dogfighting fix.

In terms of Visuals, PotD has a classic vintage aesthetic that closely resembles what you would find in Luftrausers. In fact, it’s pretty obvious that this entire game has been “inspired” by Vlambeer’s popular title, to the point where one could mistake it for the real thing if they weren’t careful. I do wish that the developers could have been a bit more original in how they chose to present the game, but since Luftrausers is not coming to iOS anytime soon, I guess it’s just something I’ll have to live with. A differentiating factor with PotD is the fact that the game does have different colors to represent day and night cycles, so everything is not just through sepia-colored glasses. The sprites used to represent aircraft and sea-ships are clearly visible against the colored backgrounds, and animations are smooth and fluid. The quirky chiptune soundtrack is fun to listen to, and the sound effects add a nice final touch to the overall package.

There are three game modes in PotD: Endless, Daily, and Campaign. Unfortunately, the Campaign has to be unlocked by scoring enough points in Endless. While it’s a fairly low threshold to cross to unlock, it does take a bit of practice (just like Luftrausers). In Endless, you will just participate in aerial and sea combat with enemy ships until you take enough damage or crash into the terrain, hoping to rack up some points before dying. Daily features a new challenge every day, which are randomly generated, so it’ll always be something different. Unfortunately, the Daily mission will become unplayable until the next day if you choose to go back to the main menu, which I found a bit annoying. Campaign features 30 different missions that players must go through in a test of skill and aerial combat prowess. These missions include objectives like “kill two enemies,” “defeat the boss,” or “survive for 15 seconds.” They are all different and will truly put your skills to the test, so be warned — this game is not for the faint of heart.

The controls in the game are a bit more straightforward than what you had in Luftrausers, but again, it takes a lot of time and practice to master. In PotD, your airship will fire its weapon automatically, so you don’t have to worry about having to manually attack. Instead, there are two buttons in PotD, which are both located in the bottom corners of the screen. The one in the right lets you steer your ship clockwise, and the other goes counter-clockwise. In order to do well in the game, you’ll need to time your turns so that your bullets actually hit the enemies. It can be a bit frustrating at first, but once you get the hang of things, and get a better ship, then it gets better.

Just like with Luftrausers, there are different ships that you can play as. Of course, PotD lacks the customization of different bodies, engines, and weapons, since there are only five pre-built ships for you to choose from. However, each one has its own set of attributes for handling, speed, and hitpoints, which you need to take into consideration before going into combat. These characteristics affect the durability of your plane as well as the controls, so practice is also needed for each one. To unlock the rest, you have to spend your hard-earned coins on them, and they must be unlocked in chronological order, so you can’t just save up 500 coins and go for the last (and probably best) ship without using the other ones first. But since PotD is a free game, you can get them early with in-app purchases.

In addition to just unlocking new and stronger planes, old one scan be improved through upgrades as well. While you’re in the Hangar, just scroll to the ship you want to use, and then select the attribute you want to upgrade. The higher the level, the more it will cost. During fights, you can also fly your ship up higher for the chance of finding power-up items, such as rapid-fire, repair kits, and shields. In similar fashion to Luftrausers, you don’t see how much health your ship has, but the more damage you sustain, the more red the screen becomes. Unfortunately, you don’t regenerate hitpoints if you don’t touch the screen, which is what Luftrausers does (repair your ship slowly by not firing your weapon).

Since I’m a big fan of Luftrausers, I was excited to see this on the App Store, as it’s pretty much the closest thing to Luftrausers on iOS for now. However, most of the time I feel that the game is pretty dependent on luck, as enemies are already shooting at me as I spawn on the map, so I’m already taking a lot of damage as I try and position myself to take them out. I also don’t like that you can’t regenerate your ship if you just don’t touch the screen, as finding power-ups while trying to avoid enemy bullets is a frustrating and difficult. Despite these little annoyances, I am still enjoying the game, since it can differentiate itself a bit from the classic Luftrausers while also retaining a familiar aesthetic. At the end of the day, Pilots of the Dawn is a fun, time-wasting arcade shooter that tests your skills as a dogfighter. Like Luftrausers, the weak need not apply.

I recommend checking out Pilots of the Dawn if you like Luftrausers and have been wanting a similar game for iOS, or just enjoy intense, arcade shooters. Pilots of the Dawn is available as a universal download on the App Store for free with in-app purchases.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
Previous 1 ... 270 271 272 ... 294 Next

Page 271 of 294

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL