topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 03/29/2016

March 29, 2016 by macjeff

Smart PDF Scanner: Scan Documents to PDF , Vidblend Video Blender: Merge & blend video clips into one single video & share on Instagram,Facebook & Vine , GeoTrend and more

iPhone:

Smart PDF Scanner: Scan Documents to PDF ( $4.99 → FREE )

Smart PDF Scanner is perfect for all your scanning needs. Its powerful capturing and rendering engine ensures you’ll come out with crystal clear scans every time. It’s able to automatically detect the edges of your document, and you can manually change the parameters afterward if need be. Smart PDF Scanner utilizes a simple tagging system, allowing you to color code categories and properly sort your scans. Scans can be shared via email or AirDrop, or you can upload them to the cloud.

GeoTrend ( $1.99 → FREE )

GeoTrend taps into data servers worldwide in order to provide the most current statistics possible. It offers more than 25 comparison modes including population, energy consumption, military expenditures, fertility rates, gas prices, and arms exports. Just choose two of the more than 175 included territories and countries and absorb the data.

Universal:

Vidblend Video Blender: Merge & blend video clips into one single video & share on Instagram,Facebook & Vine ( $1.99 → FREE )

Vidblend turns the ordinary into extraordinary. Start off by choosing a background video and a foreground video. They can either be imported from your library or recorded right form within the app. Vidblend will automatically combine your videos, and you can then tinker with the single merged video by applying filters, sounds, and blend effects.

Critter Escape ( $0.99 → FREE )

You're able to draw your critter's path through the environments, or you can have it simply follow your finger around the screen. Try to complete challenges while avoiding the many guards before reaching the exit to earn a perfect rating. The game includes more than 120 levels, power-ups, and achievements and leaderboards via Game Center.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Draw your own typeface in minutes and use it in your favorite iOS apps with iFontMaker for iPad

March 29, 2016 by macjeff

Your iPad is a great consumption device, but you can also create all kinds of content on it. With iFontMaker for iPad, for example, anyone can create their own hand font in minutes and start using it on their iOS devices, Mac or Windows PCs, in creative apps like Adobe CreativeSuite, Microsoft Office or in any other app that renders fonts in the TTF file format. And to think that not that long time ago creating homemade fonts used to require a full-on desktop computer or laptop and apps that cost hundreds of bucks…

iFontMaker features

Created by development team Eiji and Tom in collaboration with 2TFF, the app is self-explanatory yet inviting and powerful, allowing serious typography aficionados to truly create their own fonts on the iPad.

You can create completely original hand-drawn fonts in minutes or start with a basic typeface and drag the lines to change the look. In pen mode, you draw vector shapes that make up your font’s characters.

To make precise adjustments, you can adjust a stroke with bezier handles in the Edit mode. Advanced options like kerning customization, tracing and guides, stroke width, pen style and radius, canvas zooming, image and GIF animation export and operations like moving, scaling or rotating an entire glyph tool are available as well.

The app supports international Unicode sets with special characters for Latin-1, Greek, Cyrillic, Thai and Japanese character sets, but you can edit unsupported glyphs as well.

Exporting and using custom fonts

Your homemade font creations can be exported in the True Type format (TTF) via the Setup and Build Font option in the Share menu. Your fonts are shared on 2ttf.com and can be set to private or public.

Now, iOS doesn’t expose a user-facing option for importing custom fonts.

Thankfully, an iOS configuration profile provides a workaround solution. Your just need to export your custom creation and share it on 2ttf.com. Then, open the font webpage on your iPad in Safari and tap the Install on iOS button. iOS will bring up a dialog asking if you would like to install a configuration profile on your device, which in turn will import the font file and make it available to the system.

Tap Install and you’re good to go.

You can now use your own font in any application on your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad which supports custom fonts like Tweetbot, Pages, Microsoft Word and more. Or, use this typeface as your web font on your own homepage or blog. Web fonts are supported by Mozilla’s FireFox, Apple’s Safari, Google’s Chrome and Microsoft’s Internet Explorer and Edge browsers.

To remove the font from your device go to Settings → General → Profiles.

You can see community-created fonts over at 2TTF’s online font gallery.

Availability

iFontMaker is iPad-only and requires iOS 8.0 or later.

The English-only app is $7.99 in the App Store.

Source link: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2016/03/29/ifontmaker/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Best app deals of the day! 8 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time

March 29, 2016 by macjeff

Everyone likes free apps, but sometimes the best ones are a bit expensive. Now and then, developers put paid apps on sale for a limited time, but you have to snatch them up fast. Here are the latest and greatest apps on sale in the iOS App Store.

The post Best app deals of the day! 8 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time appeared first on Digital Trends.

Source link: http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/daily-app-deals-ios-03-29-2016/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Ninja Boy Adventures

March 29, 2016 by macjeff

Ninja Boy Adventures ($1.99) by The Clash Soft is a nice homage to the original Bomberman franchise. If you were a fan of that franchise, or just love a good strategic maze-based game, then Ninja Boy Adventures is for you.

When I was growing up, I remember having a few of the original Bomberman video games for what I believe was a Game Boy system (I didn’t have a great memory of what I owned back then). I am not sure exactly why I liked the Bomberman games at the time, but I think it was my joy and glee watching enemies get blown up as they stupidly walked into the path of a bomb I had planted for them. I was an easily entertained kid back then, and I think that still holds true even more nowadays when I play video games. So of course, when I heard that Ninja Boy Adventures was coming out and played like Bomberman games, I just had to get my hands on it and check it out. How can I resist a solid piece of my childhood?

Visually, Ninja Boy Adventures has a modernized aesthetic, but it still serves as a nice tribute to the old-school Bomberman games of yore due to the simple style. The mazes are laid out in simplistic or complex layouts that definitely give you a challenge each time you play, and the colors are bright and vibrant, especially the squishy-looking menu buttons. I like the character sprites of Ninja Boy himself, as well as all of the various enemies and bosses, because the game is just bursting with personality and the characters feel like a blast from the past (Ninja Boy has a close resemblance to Bomberman, you can’t miss the similarities in character design). Animations are smooth and fluid, with no lag on my iPhone 6s Plus. The game also has an awesome, quirky chiptune soundtrack and fun sound effects that definitely give players a sense of nostalgia, so it’s a nice overall finishing touch to the game’s great visual and audio package.

There are two modes in Ninja Boy Adventures: Story Mode and Battle Internet. The Battle Mode allows you to play up with up to three other people in real-time over the Internet. If you have an Apple TV, the game also works on that, and everyone can play offline on one device, which is nice. The Story Mode is where you will probably spend most of your time though, and it includes a total of 30 levels that are distributed over 11 different zones and three worlds. This also has an optional collaborative mode where up to four players can play together to try and beat the game.

So what is the goal of Ninja Boy Adventures? Each stage puts you in a maze of walls and boxes that can be blown up to reveal some nice power-up items. You have to make your way around the maze and eliminate all of the enemies and bosses before the exit appears and you can move on to the next level. While it sounds easy, things get a bit more complicated as you encounter enemies that can freely roam around, fly over walls, and many other abilities. You’ll have to plan your exit strategy with precision, because sometimes you just never know if you’re going to be cornered. Plus, you have to watch out for those bombs you’re planting down as well — if you’re in the line of fire for the blast, you lose a life, and you only have so many of those (indicated at the top of the screen). To make things more challenging, each stage has a time limit as well, so you have to think quickly for your best plan of action within the allotted time frame.

The controls in Ninja Boy Adventures are simple and intuitive. In the bottom left corner, there is a virtual joystick for moving Ninja Boy left, right, up, and down in the labyrinth. Don’t worry if your thumb ends up straying from the corner, though — the joystick is not pinned to the corner, so it will follow your thumb around as you drag it to move Ninja Boy. To place a bomb down (you have an infinite number), just tap on the button located in the bottom right corner. But watch out — once a bomb is put down, it’s recommended to move at least a few squares away from it, as it takes a few seconds to detonate, and will kill you if you’re caught in the crossfire.

As I mentioned, there are power-up items to be found in the destroyable crates. These contain useful things like extending the range of the blast (be careful though), increasing the damage, land mines that trigger when stepped on, and more. But you’ll have to look at the power-ups carefully, because some are traps, such as instant-death or reducing your bomb power. Since you have to keep an eye on what drops from boxes as well as steering clear of enemy movement patterns, things can become pretty hectic as you make progress. It’s all about timing, accuracy, and most importantly, skill, in this game. I mean, that’s what the old Bomberman games were about, so why should this be any different?

Thanks to the co-op play and online multiplayer battles, there is plenty of replay value here even if you beat the game and obtain the best possible score for each stage. Plus, there is Game Center support for leaderboards and achievements, so there’s plenty of reason to keep coming back for more.

I grew up with the old Bomberman games and have missed them a lot, so it’s nice to have Ninja Boy Adventures on my iOS so I can get my Bomberman fix (as close as I’m going to get) while I’m on-the-go. The visual style in the game is beautiful, the retro music and sounds are a joy to the ears, and the controls are easy to pick up and rather intuitive. The difficulty of the game also ramps up gradually, so I think it’s friendly enough for anyone to enjoy.

I highly recommend giving Ninja Boy Adventures a try if you’re a fan of Bomberman or like challenging maze strategy games. Ninja Boy Adventures is available on the App Store as a universal app for the iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV for just $1.99. There are no in-app purchases, so you pay once and get the game on every platform.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Rainmaker - The Beautiful Flood

March 29, 2016 by macjeff

Rainmaker - The Beautiful Flood ($3.99) by SweatyChair Pty. Ltd. is a minimalistic puzzle game with a rather intricate little story. If you enjoyed games like Stay, Mum, then chances are high that you will enjoy Rainmaker – The Beautiful Flood.

I’ve mentioned it many times here on AppAdvice, but even though I’ve gone through hundreds of iOS games over the years, one of my favorite genres is still the good old-fashioned puzzle. After a long day, I just want to unwind and relax, but I prefer to keep my mind stimulated somehow, and puzzle games do a great job of that since I’m having fun while trying to solve a problem. Despite trying pretty much all of the puzzle games on the App Store, I’m still always on the lookout for more, especially interesting ones, and Rainmaker happened to catch my eye this week.

The visuals in Rainmaker are minimalistic with a simple and clean aesthetic that will appeal to everyone. It seems that the minimal art style was made extremely popular on iOS ever since Monument Valley, and with good reason — less is more nowadays. In Rainmaker, players are greeted with flat graphics that show a little girl surrounded by water and stunning backdrops. As the game goes on, a story unfolds, which takes you on a journey to discover what is causing a mysterious rainfall. Animations are smooth and fluid, and I did not experience any lag on my iPhone 6s Plus. I did find that the text appeared a bit fuzzy at times, so I’m sure that some optimization can be improved as far as the typography goes, but other than that, the game looks great. The ambient soundtrack is atmospheric and soothing, so it helps get you in a relaxed and focused state.

As with other puzzle games, Rainmaker is level-based, though it does not follow the traditional method of having a level selection screen, nor can you go back and replay stages that you’ve already solved. Instead, Rainmaker takes you seamlessly through the story one puzzle at a time (a total of 60 puzzles await), with the goal of helping the girl named Tian reach her destination on each stage in the form of a door. However, sometimes the door is in a place high above, or there are obstacles that stand in the way of reaching it — your job is to help her get past these obstructions with the power of a magical medallion that allows her to turn into three different forms: a heavy rock, a weightless bubble, or a bouncy basketball.

The controls in Rainmaker are simple and intuitive, even allowing players to enjoy the game with one hand if desired. To change Tian’s forms, all you have to do is tap anywhere on the screen. The order of forms remains the same: rock, bubble, and then basketball, so it’s fairly easy to remember. However, sometimes you’ll get in a level that only permits two of those forms, which adds an interesting twist to the game mechanics, since you never know what you’ll end up with. Since the levels transition into each other, Tian may already be in motion at the start of the puzzle, so you have to be quick to react. Timing matters a lot in the game, as you have to switch into the correct form at just the right moment in order to reach the door. While the game starts out pretty simple, things do get a bit more complex at a gradual pace as the game introduces things like waterfalls and levers to open passageways. You can always reset the puzzle if you want to start over, but there is no penalty if Tian “dies,” as you just need to try again.

I’m still pretty early on in Rainmaker, but so far I’m enjoying the interesting gameplay mechanic, as it is different from most puzzle games out there. Plus, I’m a fan of the minimal art style, the music is calming, and the puzzles themselves can be rather challenging, which is great as it makes you think. I just wish that there was a way to see what levels you’ve completed, or even a way to replay puzzles you really liked. Maybe the developer can consider it in the future, but it’s not a big deal, just a nitpicky detail.

I recommend giving Rainmaker – The Beautiful Flood if you like challenging puzzles with a bit of depth to them. You can find Rainmaker – The Beautiful Flood on the App Store as a universal download for just $3.99.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
Previous 1 ... 222 223 224 ... 254 Next

Page 223 of 254

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL