topimg

Upshot, Roger, Patternator and other apps to check out this weekend

April 02, 2016 by macjeff

Whether you’re looking to load up your new iPhone SE or 9.7-inch iPad Pro with some apps and games, or you’re just looking for some new titles to try out this weekend, you’re going to want to check out our latest Apps of the Week roundup. The list includes a new way to share photos, a pattern-creator and of course Nintendo’s long-awaited mobile release.

Patternator

Hey you! Yes, you! What if I told you there was an app that allows you to create your own patterns? Well there is, and it’s aptly named Patternator. Take advantage of millions of stickers, hundreds of background colors and endless pattern options to create your own backgrounds, wallpapers and Lock screens. There is even an option to you have your pattern printed on an iPhone case. This app is available for free.

Upshot

Upshot allows you to live-stream your photos and videos as you take them. Simply just switch live-streaming ON, set when you want the feature to turn off, and start shooting. The cool thing is you can create private albums with friends and family, where anyone can contribute. So say you go to a concert or sporting event with a big group; everyone’s photos and videos end up in one place. This app is available for free.

Roger

Roger is a walkie-talkie-style app that makes it simple to keep in touch with the people you care about most, no matter where they are. It’s free and easy to use—simply tap to talk, tap to listen. You can talk for as long as you want, as much as you want, and replay messages for up to 48 hours. The audio is high-quality, and with 3D Touch support, you can talk to people without opening the app. Roger is available for free.

Miitomo

I couldn’t decide whether to classify this as a game or an app, but because it’s the first official mobile release from Nintendo, I knew it had to make the list. Miitomo is essentially a playground for Nintendo’s Mii characters. You can create and customize your own Mii, interact with friends, play mini-games to unlock prizes, and create images called Miifotos. Unsurprisingly, there are tons of IAPs. This app is available for free.

LEGO Jurassic World

If you love LEGO games and the Jurassic franchise, you don’t want to miss this just-released game. LEGO Jurassic World features storylines from all of the movies — Jurassic Park, The Lost World: Jurassic Park and Jurassic Park III, and the most recent Jurassic World—reimagined in LEGO form. You can relive key moments from the films, build your own dinosaur collection, and more. This game is available for $4.99.

More apps you should check out

These apps have been updated

Source link: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2016/04/02/apps-of-the-week-march-31/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Good Knight Story

April 01, 2016 by macjeff

Good Knight Story (Free) by Turbo Chilli Pty Ltd is a humorous match-three RPG game that packs in a challenge among plenty of parodies and references. If you enjoyed games like You Must Build A Boat and Hero Emblems, then you are going to love what Good Knight Story brings to the table.

Even though I do a decent amount of gaming on my consoles at home and on-the-go, I still turn to my iPhone 6s Plus for a large chunk of my total game time. That’s because the thing is always with me, no matter where I am, and there are plenty of games that I can pick up and play for a few minutes at a time. Plus, my favorite genres these days are puzzles and RPGs, and there are a handful of them to choose from on iOS. Even though I’ve gone through what I think is a good chunk of them already, I can’t help but notice when a new one hits the App Store, and that’s just what happened this week with Good Knight Story.

In terms of visuals, Good Knight Story carries a somewhat goofy but cartoonish aesthetic that will definitely appeal to most people. Despite that, I found that the game packs in a lot of detail when it comes to the various environments, characters and enemy monsters, and even items like treasure chests and gear. The colors also range from the bright and lush outdoors to dark and dingy dungeons, and there are cool effects in the background as you get a long chain of matches. Animations in Good Knight Story are incredibly smooth and fluid, so I had no issues with lag on my iPhone 6s Plus. The game also has a quirky, folk-like soundtrack and realistic sound effects that make you truly feel like you’re in battle. I must say, the whole visuals and audio package that this game gives you is pretty immersive, which is always a good thing.

Like other games of this kind, there is a world map and you’ll have to make your way through the game one stage at a time. But to spice things up, there is an actual story behind everything, which gets uncovered as you progress. It starts off with some knights in a pub having a good time, and then things go dark. When your knight wakes up, he finds himself in a dungeon and must battle his way through to get back to the outside world. It’s an interesting little plot, and the one-liners, parodies, and references that are sprinkled throughout keep everything engaging, as you’ll just want to find out what happens next, or what else they’ll refer to in this world. The stages also have three stars that you can earn, which is dependent on your score by the end of the level. A different objective awaits you for each stage, such as just killing the monsters or gathering up all of the keys or meat, so things are kept fresh and interesting. The faster you complete it, the more stars and points you’ll earn. Coins are also awarded at the end of each successful level, and the game is fairly generous with them, so it’s not hard to save up a bit to get much-needed weapon and power-up upgrades.

The best part about Good Knight Story is the matching system. Instead of having to swap adjacent pieces or moving tiles around for matches, all you have to do is draw a line that connects the gems together. The line can go horizontally, vertically, and even diagonally, so the possibilities for matches are far and wide compared to some other games out there. For a match to count, it has to include at least three pieces, but if you get a chain of at least six or more, the background at the top changes to indicate a stronger attack. And if you create even longer connections, then you create a special bomb piece that will destroy all tiles in a “+” shape on the grid.

With Good Knight Story, there are several different types of tiles on the screen: fire, ice, lighting, and poison. There are also shields and hearts, which mean allowing your knight to defend and heal himself, respectively. With the elemental pieces, those will allow your knight to attack foes, but be careful — there is a rock-paper-scissors mechanic here, where an element is strong against one but weak to another. For your reference, a diagram can be found in the upper left corner, so you should always have the advantage in battle, as long as the right pieces are laid out for you.

As mentioned, there are shields and hearts that will come in handy. This is because each monster has a turn counter on them, and when the number reaches zero, that means that they are able to attack you after you make your move. It’s important to note that because if you can match up at least three shields right before the enemy attacks, you can negate most, if not all, of the damage from the hit. The amount of damage that you block depends on your knight’s defense stat.

There are light elements of RPG besides the battling part, which is nice. At the end of each level, you’ll find a treasure chest that you can break open with an attack. It will grant you things like weapons, or even stat upgrades. Experience points are also earned after battle, and you have the option of upgrading one stat each time you level up. The stats can also change depending on the weapon you choose to wield, so choose wisely.

Even though the game is fairly generous when it comes to those shiny gold coins, it’s important to not spend your stash so frivolously. That’s because you’ll unlock better weapons as you go, and these can get a bit pricey. Plus, there are upgrades for each of them so you can further maximize their effectiveness. Plus, there are power-up items to unlock as well, and it costs a bit of change to purchase one and equip it in battle. However, the power-ups can be helpful to get you out of a pinch, since they can do things like attack all enemies at once (good for multiple enemies at once) or shield you from all attacks for three turns.

Good Knight Story is a free-to-play game, but I’m rather surprised by it. The game does not have an energy timer, so you can play it as long as you want for each session without having to wait for your lives to recharge. There are also no intrusive ads that interrupt you between stages, which I love. In fact, while there are video ads, they are completely optional if you just want to double your coins after successful levels. There is also a free gift of coins that you can redeem every couple of hours, so honestly, gold coins should not be too much of an issue in the game. But if you are super impatient, you can buy more through in-app purchases.

I’ve been playing Good Knight Story a bit this morning for this review, and I’m finding it pretty hard to put down. I love the style of the game’s graphics, the music is fun, and the plot is hilarious with the corny jokes and one-liners. The controls are simple enough to get used to, and the game mechanic is not too hard to get used to so it is great for everyone. The difficulty level does get ramped up a bit as you go, since there will be beefier monsters who are out for your blood, but the challenge is not too frustrating, and you don’t have to worry about timers if you lose. This is definitely a game that I would have gladly paid a few dollars for, so I’m honestly shocked that it’s free and generous. It’s a nice surprise this week, that’s for sure.

I highly recommend checking out Good Knight Story if you like action-packed match-three RPGs and enjoy a side of humorous storyline to go with it. You can find Good Knight Story on the App Store as a universal download for free. There are optional in-app purchases.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Free Apps to Download TODAY ONLY 04/01/2016

April 01, 2016 by macjeff

Ask Me Colors Preschool and Kindergarten Core Skills Preparation Free , deGeo Camera - Photos Without Geotags , Quick Fit - 7 Minute Workout, High Intensity Interval Training, Full Body, Yoga, and Abs and more

Universal:

Ask Me Colors Preschool and Kindergarten Core Skills Preparation Free ( $3.99 → FREE )

Today only: Unlock everything free of charge! Simply tap the “Unlock” button on the main screen, and enter the provided passcode to confirm your action. All current and future puzzles will be available to you and your child free of charge. The app will present your child with a cute and colorful object, and they must find all of the matching ones at the bottom of the screen. Each object is accompanied by hand-clapping music and rhyming narration. The app includes over 100 objects to discover.

deGeo Camera - Photos Without Geotags ( $0.99 → FREE )

Every photo you take includes GPS location data. This hidden data provides anyone with your exact coordinates. With deGeo, you’ll never have to worry about this little secret because photos taken with it don’t include any sensitive data. You can, however, choose to include basic metadata like the date and time. The app also allows you to add a grid overlay to the live camera feed, and change camera features with a swipe.

Quick Fit - 7 Minute Workout, High Intensity Interval Training, Full Body, Yoga, and Abs ( $1.99 → FREE )

All included exercises can be performed anywhere, at anytime since Quick Fit doesn’t require any equipment. The seven minute workout requires you to perform a total of 12 exercises for 30 seconds. You are allowed a 10 second break in between each exercise. Each exercise is accompanied by a video, and you’re able to listen for audio cues so you can focus on the task at hand. You’re also able to track your body weight and workouts to see how far you’ve come.

DayCost Pro - Personal Finance, Money Manager, Income, Expense & Budget ( $2.99 → FREE )

It takes mere seconds to record a transaction in DayCost. Just swipe down on the screen, pick a category, enter an amount, and swipe up to record. You’re also able to attach a payment type, photo, and note to your transactions. DayCost allows you to create a budget and view graphical reports to keep your finances in check. It also includes passcode protection, iCloud support, and the ability to create custom categories.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/apps-gone-free

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Best app deals of the day! 8 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time

April 01, 2016 by macjeff

Everyone likes free apps, but sometimes the best ones are a bit expensive. Now and then, developers put paid apps on sale for a limited time, but you have to snatch them up fast. Here are the latest and greatest apps on sale in the iOS App Store.

The post Best app deals of the day! 8 paid iPhone apps on sale for a limited time appeared first on Digital Trends.

Source link: http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/daily-app-deals-ios-04-01-2016/

credit : midatlanticconsulting

Share with your friends
topimg
topimg

Flipped Out – The Powerpuff Girls Match 3 Puzzle / Fighting Action Game

March 31, 2016 by macjeff

Flipped Out – The Powerpuff Girls Match 3 Puzzle / Fighting Action Game ($2.99) by Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. is a new hybrid title that has launched in anticipation of the Powerpuff Girls reboot next week. If you were a fan of the Powerpuff Girls, or just enjoy match-three strategy puzzle games or good old-fashioned brawlers, then Flipped Out is worth checking out.

Around the time I was in middle school, I liked to stay up late watching cartoons on Cartoon Network. One of those cartoons that I ended up watching often was Powerpuff Girls, and I grew to become a big fan of the series. I watched most of the episodes that aired on the channel, and I even saw the movie at some point. Needless to say, Powerpuff Girls was definitely a cartoon that set some standards in terms of storytelling and art style, at least for me (and I’m sure many others agree). When I first heard about the reboot of the Powerpuff Girls, I groaned with displeasure, because it seems that everything that ended well is getting a reboot. However, I am willing to give it a chance after I saw the extended introduction of the new series, because I appreciate the modernized theme song and art style. With the reboot launch just a week away now, it seems the hype is building up more than ever before, and that’s why we have Flipped Out. After spending some time with the game, I must say that it is definitely an interesting mashup that is worth checking out, as there is nothing quite like it on the App Store.

Visually, Flipped Out is stunningly beautiful, especially if you’re a fan of the franchise. It retains the cartoonish art style that the Powerpuff Girls are known for, though it seems that this game goes with the more streamlined and modern art style, rather than the classic version, which makes sense given the reboot next week. The colors in the game are bright and vivid, which you’d expect from anything Powerpuff Girls releated. While the typeface for text is rather cartoony, it’s not hard to read at all and just adds extra charm to the title. Animations are smooth and fluid, and the soundtrack pulls you in to the Powerpuff Girls world and Townsville. Sound effects are a fun final touch to the overall visual and audio package.

There are four different chapters in Flipped Out at the moment, with each of them having nine main levels, a boss battle, and three additional bonus stages that can be unlocked when you get a certain number of A+ grades once you complete a level. The chapters are spread out across different sectors of Townsville, so you’ll be visiting some familiar places. The main objective is to clear the stage of as many enemy monsters as you can, or defeat the boss, before the Powerpuff Girls are defeated. Your score depends on how many foes you’ve managed to get rid of, and collecting the pickles for the mayor is beneficial, as you’ll earn sticker upgrades for the girls, which grant you some awesome super powers to make battle easier.

In Flipped Out, there are two “modes” that you can seamlessly switch to while on a level: Sugar (strategic puzzle) and Spice (action-packed brawler). While it does sound confusing at first, the tutorial in the beginning stages will walk you through the two modes, and it’s also good to flip strategically (portrait for Sugar, landscape for Spice) to defeat certain enemies and bosses.

For Sugar Mode, monsters will pop up on the screen after each turn, which constitutes a move you make. The monsters are also able to attack or move after you make a move, so you have to plan out your attack carefully. The girls will appear scattered on the grid in Sugar Mode, and you must have the girls make matches of like-colored monsters to clear them out. To do this, select one of the girls that you want to move, then swipe them in the direction you want them to go. When they bump into a monster, you can then have the girl throw them to another girl, or at a cluster of like-colored monsters to make a match of at least three or more. If you match at least four, there will be a bonus laser explosion once that group clears out, in which case it will trigger other groups that are caught in the blast. Depending on where you have positioned the girls, you can get creative and set off some epic chain reactions.

In Spice Mode, the girls will appear on the streets of Townsville, and you tap to select the girl you want and then swipe them to where you want to go. When they run into an enemy, attacking happens automatically, and you can also send in at least two girls on one target to beat them quicker. All of the action of this mode happens in real-time, so you don’t have the time to plan out your attacks — you have to be fast with your reflexes here.

In both modes, though, enemies will drop pickle chips after they’re defeated. In Sugar mode, all you have to do to collect them is have a girl move over them and the chips are yours. In Spice mode, you just tap on them to pick them up. The pickle chips are important, since you get a gift box with a sticker prize inside each time the gauge is full.

The stickers serve as powerful upgrades for our young heroines. You can equip stickers on each girl for a different loadout, and the sticker effects can vary depending on whether you’re in Sugar or Spice mode. When you want to use an ability, just select the girl you want, and then tap on the ability button in the top right corner. But be careful — each ability can only be used a certain number of times in a stage, so make sure to use them wisely.

While the goal of each stage is pretty simple with just racking up points with matches or defeating your foes in battle, watch out for the hits that may sneak in if you aren’t careful. You lose a heart on each girl if they take damage, and if they are down for the count, you may have to flip to the other mode to wake them up. But if all of them go down, then you’ve failed and must try again.

Personally, Flipped Out was a pleasant surprise for me this week, and it’s rather enjoyable, which is nice since I also liked the other Powerpuff Girls game, Defenders of Townsville. The graphics in Flipped Out are wonderful, the music and sounds are fun, and the controls are simple enough, though I think they could be better optimized for accuracy (sometimes I messed up a move because I was slightly off). The strategic match-three and action brawler modes work well for what it’s worth, and it’s definitely an interesting combination that you just don’t see anywhere else on the App Store.

I recommend giving Powerpuff Girls: Flipped Out a try if you’re a fan of the franchise, enjoy innovative new games, or just like a challenging match-three or brawler game. You can find Flipped Out as a universal download on the App Store for just $2.99. There are no in-app purchases.

Source link: http://appadvice.com/reviews

credit : appadvice

Share with your friends
topimg
Previous 1 ... 178 179 180 ... 212 Next

Page 179 of 212

Follow Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img img

Subscribe Mid Atlantic Consulting

img img Email Subscription

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives

Downloads and Tools

  • HotMacNews 2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    HotMacNews 2

    Get all the Mac and iOS news from one place DL

  • MacHelp Mate 3.2 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Mate 3.2

    Mac HelpMate is one way for our technicians to provide you with Remote IT Support. DL

  • MacHelp Widget 2.5.1 at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MacHelp Widget 2.5.1

    With our widget you can recieve the best support, ask questions, and a whole bunch of other services. DL

  • MultiAlarm at midatlanticconsulting.com

    MultiAlarm

    Have you ever left your laptop on your desk and walked away, only to turn around to see someone taking your laptop and using it? DL